Uncategorized

The Realization That I’m No Longer A Child

On the 26th of March it hit me that next year I would be twenty years old. I’m no longer a child with all the time in the world. I’m a nineteen year old with a nine to five job, bills to pay and I have barely any time for anything.

Ever since I started working I noticed that time was something that had basically disappeared, by the time I got home had some tea and spoke to my parents about how their day had gone, it was already six o’clock and whilst you might think “well if you got to bed at midnight that still gives you six hours of free time” and while it does give you free time you can’t really do a lot after six. The currently sun has more or less gone by around seven, no shops are open after five in my town, the only one’s that tend to be open are supermarkets and if i’m honest I don’t want to spend a night inside a supermarket.

I’ve also noticed that friends are basically always busy because they’ve got home from work and have family/ partners to see and some of my friends are at University so they have coursework to do etc. If I’m truly honest, I don’t think I’ve seen a friend (I’m not including my boyfriend in this) since mid February. A lot of my friends also aren’t great at texting back either therefore speaking to them via text on a night kind of goes out the window.

The only real positive thing I’ve noticed about being an adult is the left over money you have after you’ve paid all your bills. Payday has become my favourite day of the month just because  all the hard work you’ve done at your job pays off  and you get your wage (at least I do because I get paid monthly) but if I’m truly honest, I’d give it all up to be a child again and just have one more summer holiday because honestly I’d do so much more with my days than what I use to.

I now this wasn’t a happy post but it was just something I wanted to post.

DISCLAIMER: Nothing was sent to me by a company.

Rebecca x

© 2017 by RebeccaEdenWhiteley.
12 thoughts on “The Realization That I’m No Longer A Child

  1. I agree getting older and realising that your friends are always busy, you have more responsibility and more work can be a pain and I’m 22 this year! Enjoy your teens while you can! Xx

    itsallzara.blogspot.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Growing up is not always fun, I am learning that as well lol. Will be 21 this year and trying to figure out how to move out of home while being a full-time student, it’s challenging. I’m trying to grow up and be independent, but still need some financial help

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

