Life

Realising That Numbers Aren’t Everything

Hello, today I decided to make a post on views and numbers.

When I first started blogging in December last year all after I pressed publish on my second blog post all I wanted was for other people to go on my blog and read what I had to say,commented on my posts and come back to my blog to see what else I’d posted,I even changed to WordPress so that I could see what views I got on that day (granted that wasn’t the only reason I moved blogging platform but I won’t lie and say that it wasn’t a reason).It was almost like I became obsessed with the number that was on my stats section because I’d be checking it a multiple times a day and I would get ‘unhappy’ when the number hadn’t grown since the last time I checked and then I realised that was a problem.

Now I personally don’t think there’s anything wrong with checking your stats page, heck I still do that now because I like to see what posts have gotten higher views, it also gives me ideas what there people might like to see on my blog however now i’ve learned that as long as I enjoy blogging and as long as i’m happy with the content that I’m posting I shouldn’t be overly bothered about how many people view my page in that day or that month.

Since I stopped being overly bothered about the numbers I saw and the amount of followers I had i’ve enjoyed blogging so much more, I stopped being overly bothered about how long or short a post might be or how many uploads I posted that month, I’ve participated in more blogging chats just because I can talk with more people. Overall I’ve just enjoyed this all so much more.

If you come across this and you’re a new blogger, just remember that as long as you’re having fun with what you’re doing and with what you’re posting that’s all that matters, numbers are nice but they aren’t everything.

DISCLAIMER: Nothing was sent to me by a company.

Rebecca x

© 2017 by RebeccaEdenWhiteley.
4 thoughts on “Realising That Numbers Aren’t Everything

  1. Couldn’t agree more, this is a big issue with blogging, because it seems numbers are what get bloggers money, success, and brand deals. But when it comes down to it, it’s so important to realize that you should be blogging initially because you just LOVE it. when you love it, things will fall into place

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post and interesting insight. I actually wrote a post discussing whether people would blog if they didn’t have the followers / stats and I personally wouldn’t. Like you said, there’s nothing wrong with checking stats and caring about them but bloggers as a whole need to understand that we all have different priorities and some will care, some won’t. And either way that’s cool 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

