Life

What I Wish I knew When I Started Birth Control

I’ve taken birth control for about four or five years now and I thought i’d make a post about what I wish I knew about birth control when I started getting into birth control.

There is more than two types of birth control –   Before I went to see a nurse about going on the pill I thought the only Birth control you could get was the pill and the implant however I was completely wrong, to start with there is many different types of birth control pills that you can be given. There’s also things like the ring, the patch, UDI, Diaphragm etc.

It takes three to six months for your body to adjust – Now I knew that your body would have to adjust but what I didn’t know was that it could take up to half a year for your body to be fully adjusted. I was rather lucky and I think it only took about two and a half months.

If something goes wrong, go see someone – One the first birth control pill I had about seven months in something went wrong with the pill and I was bleeding when I shouldn’t of had bleeding and it could last an entire month before it would stop. I eventually went to see a gynaecologist and she checked to make sure my cervix was fine and it turned out I just had to change the type of birth control I was on. If something goes wrong on your birth control please go see someone as soon as possible.

If you don’t like something, change it – I don’t remember the name of the pill but the first thing I was given after going to see a gynaecologist I was a different brand of pill and everything was fine until my period came, it was the heaviest period I think i’ve ever had. I went back and the nurse kept telling the to give it three months and I just put my foot down and said I wasn’t happy. At the end of the day you know your body, if you don’t feel like a type birth control is right for you.

Everyone has a different experience – The biggest thing I realised was that everyone has a different experience with birth control, me and my friend was on the same brand of pill, it worked for me but it didn’t for her.

Have you learnt anything about birth control that you didn’t know before you started?

What type of birth control are you on?  

DISCLAIMER: Nothing was sent to me by a company.
Rebecca x
© 2017 by RebeccaEdenWhiteley.
2 thoughts on “What I Wish I knew When I Started Birth Control

  1. TMI – I have yet to be on birth control. Thanks for writing this one. I’ve heard you might need a change and to pay attention to your body when you try it. Your story is confirmation of that for me. This is all so good to know.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

